Recently, numbered


37. Song obsession
May 21, 2012, 11:00 am
Filed under: Everyday, Music

How They Want Me To Be” on the new Best Coast album

I walk down the sidewalk with IT in my ears, and girl group nostalgia snags me.

Every time I listen to it.

I lip-synch the song all the way down Sullivan Street.

First chorus:

“I don’t wanna BE how they want me to BE

I don’t wanna BE how the want me to BE”

Last chorus:

“You don’t want ME to be/how they want ME to be/I don’t want ME to be/how they want ME to be.”

IT goes swing to circle. And YOU shows up mid-way through

Turns a selfish revolution into YOU loving ME.

That’s all that matters.

Songs will point that out.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

